December 11, 2007

Hang the DJ

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 5:09 pm by Mitch

Here’s a question for any readers: how much would you expect to pay for a DJ? We know a couple of amateurs who might be willing to DJ our reception on the cheap, and I certainly don’t doubt their abilities. However, I attend a particular pub trivia game every week and I’d really like to hire the host to DJ our wedding, because I think he’d do a terrific job. He told me he could do it for as little as $500, which sounds reasonable to me. But I don’t know. What’s the going rate for a DJ?

-Mitch

3 Comments »

  1. Tyler said,

    I think that’s about reasonable. I paid something like that IIRC.

    Please ban the chicken dance and electric slide kthx

  2. Mike Johnson said,

    We’re paying a bit more than that ($700), but yeah, that sounds pretty good. Actually, Mo’s telling me that that’s discounted and that his rates are usually more like $850-900.

    I was wondering if you still go to trivia. I was out there for a foos tournament last Saturday. Geoff Harm handed me my ass in a bucket.

  3. Jessica said,

    I would say that $500 is reasonable but make sure you have a contract and outline EVERYTHING that is and is not included; travel, songs played, dinner etc.


Leave a Reply

