December 10, 2007

Anti-Platinum Wedding

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 7:05 pm by Molly

I don’t think it’s any surprise that planning a wedding is expensive. I mean even just trying to put together the basics I can see it adding up quickly. However, I just don’t understand why weddings cost SO much for some people.

Example: I am currently watching the show Platinum Weddings. For those of you unfamiliar with this show, they have couples with unlimited budgets (I’m pretty sure they haven’t had a wedding on here under $500K) and follow them as they plan their weddings. Now, I get the whole “I want to be princess for a day” attitude, it’s not me, but I complete understand wanting this day to be perfect and having a pretty gown and all that. What is now making me angry (as opposed to the laughter it used to bring me) is how these brides are, almost on purpose, picking whatever is the MOST expensive.

This particular couple has a flower budget that is twice what Mitch and I hope to spend on our entire wedding!! (and that’s at our high end of things too!) That just seems unnecessary. This bride has TWO dresses. One for the ceremony and one for the reception. I find it hard enough buying a dress that I will most likely only wear for one WHOLE day, never mind a dress that I would only wear for a few hours.

Now, weddings are a multi-million dollar business, the price of anything goes up significantly when you say the word “wedding” and that’s just frustrating. I want to be able to get around that as much as possible, but it’s starting to seem a very difficult thing to do. I’ve had ideas such as: just telling a caterer how many people and seeing what they charge for that, instead of saying “hey, cater my wedding!”, or finding a place that doesn’t normally do weddings or that weddings are not their main source of revenue so that we would have more freedom and negotiating power with the pricing.

There is something to be said for paying someone to take care of things for you. Just looking for a caterer in the areas we’ve looked in has proven a lot more difficult than I thought, however there are things we want to do that I don’t think the typical caterer would have on their wedding menu.

All I know is, this will not be a Platinum Wedding! However, even if we had unlimited funds I’m not sure I would be imagining a wedding much different from the one that is already in my head. All that is important is that it represents us and that our guests have a really good time. I could care less about linens and things (ha).

Someone please remind me of this when i’m freaking out about colors or something in a few months.

-Molly

2 Comments »

  1. Jessica said,

    All in all make sure it is what you and Mitch want NO MATTER WHAT! It is your day and it should be what you want. You can keep guests and what not in mind but you will drive yourselves nuts trying to please everyone.
    Adam and I are proof that it can be done under 5000 including 2 weeks of honeymoon. BAM!

  2. mkrpata said,

    “under 5000 including 2 weeks of honeymoon.”

    I like where your head’s at.


Leave a Reply

